Member Login

Log in here

Not a member?

Register here

ASMC Safety Awards

2017 ASMC Workplace Health and Safety Excellence Award

The ASMC Board of Directors has established a People & Safety Committee. A purpose of the Committee is to facilitate continuous improvement in Work Health & Safety.  Through harnessing the expertise and leadership of its members, the ASMC strives to develop, inform and share best practice health and safety management.

Last year the ASMC Directors on behalf of all employees across the industry signed a safety Charter as one example and another is the Workplace Health and Safety Excellence Awards.  The Workplace Health and Safety Excellence Awards aim to provide visible leadership and participation in good safety practice and risk management.  Awards are open to all employees of ASMC member companies, and nominations should be submitted through your Line Manager and company Safety Manager,

  • This year the Assessment Panel comprise of:
    • People & Safety Committee Chair (Stewart Norton).
    • ASMC Director Representative (Jason Lowry).
    • WorkCover representative (Kelly Wills).
    • WH&SQ representative (John Dalamaras).
    • External to Sugar Industry person (Martin Levey, Colonel in Australian Army).

There are five categories of awards:

  1. Best Solution to a Specific Workplace Health and Safety Issue Award

In this award the ASMC would like to recognise a mill individual or a team which has found an innovative and valuable business solution to a workplace risk or hazard.   The solution may or may not be as a result of capital expenditure to solve the problem given that innovation can be a new work practice.

  1. Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award

In granting this award the ASMC would like to recognise a manager or an employee who has as part or all of their role a responsibility to champion Health & Safety and work to improve safety performance within the workplace.  The intention is to recognise and reward Health and Safety Representatives for how they engage managers and employees in identifying and managing risks to mill employees, suppliers and the general community.

  1. Excellence in stay at work Award

The ASMC would like to recognise the important and specialist skill it takes to effectively coordinate the return to work of a worker who has been injured.  Getting affected workers productively back into the work place as soon as is practical is a key part of helping the individual feel productive and make a full recovery.  This function may only be a small part of the persons overall responsibilities, however we think it is essential and should be recognised.  This award may also be used to recognise an individual who has demonstrated the best approach to getting back to work.

  1. Farming Safety Solution Award

Due to the significant farm safety has in sugar milling and the fact that all mills have significant farming operation the safety managers decided it was now time to include this award category.

The ASMC would like to recognise the important role that farming plays for our members and have created this award to recognise and encourage best practice safety within the farming community associated with ASMC members.

Another new category is the ASMC Mill Member Burning Issue for this Season award.  This Award has been created on the principle that safety requires ongoing effort and vigilance, and we are all seeking new ways to refresh enthusiasm and focus on key safety areas.  And this year the focus of this award is on “eye protection”, so we have the 2017: 

  1. Mill Members Burning Issue for This Season Award – Eye Protection

Eye safety is a major and ongoing issue for mill operations and therefore was an obvious choice for the inaugural Burning Issue Award.

The ASMC would like to recognise the dynamic nature of Sugar Milling and the importance of being ever vigilant in the area of safety.  For this reason the safety award for the best solution for this years most burning issue for sugar milling has been created and 2017 year the focus is on Eye Protection:

The full list of finalists for the safety awards:

Best Solution to a Specific Workplace Health and Safety Issue Award

  1. Finalist; Wilmar Sarina Distillery, Vince Humphreys, Process Engineer and Robyn Brown, EHS & Training for Safety Systems.
  2. Finalist; Mackay Sugar, Marcus Esterhuysen, Boilermaker for RollerArc Fume suppression device.
  3. Finalist; MSF Sugar, Ken Hall, Cane Supply Manager, Steel Chocks.

Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award

  1. Finalist; Bundaberg Sugar Glenn Andersen, Mill Supervisor Millaquin Mill.
  2. Finalist; MSF Sugar Chris McInerney, Shift Supervisor South Johnstone Mill.

Excellence in stay at work Award

  1. Finalist; Tully Sugar, Belynda Seawright, Health and Safety Advisor.
  2. Finalist; Bundaberg Sugar Rodney Stehbens, Shift Supervisor Millaquin and Kim Norgaard, Safety Manager.

Farming Safety Solution Award

  1. Finalist; Mackay Sugar, Racecourse Projects, George Williams, Operating Partner for OH&S Development.
  2. Finalist; MSF Sugar, Col Brischke, Maintenance Supervisor, for Three Point Linkage Pivot Lifter.

Mill Members Burning Issue for This Season Award – Eye Protection

  1. Finalist; Kim Norgaard on behalf of the Bundaberg Sugar, Safety Management Committee, Annual Safety Blitz – Eye Safety, across the group, covering tool box tips and training, consultation with all stakeholders.
  2. Finalist; MSF Sugar Eyelation Initiative, at Mulgrave, Chris Hoare, Factory Manager.

Slide presentation with winners announced

Inaugural Award Winners

Nominations from the ASMC member mills were called during 2015 and applicants submitted evidence to predetermined criteria.  The selection panel was formed and nominations rated against the criteria to select final award winners.

The ASMC would like to thank the Safety Award selection panel for their time and effort in sorting through the applications and most importantly for their commitment to ensure a rigorous and transparent process is undertaken.

The panel comprised of an ASMC Director Representative, the Chair of the People & Safety Committee, an independent from WorkCover Queensland and a Solicitor Partner from Norton Rose Fulbright.  Winners were awarded in the categories of:


Please click on the above categories to learn about the winners.